UPDATE!

Wow, it has been forever since I have updated my blog. I feel pretty guilty for leaving everyone hanging but I had to take care of a few thing before I let you all know that this infamous IVF cycle WAS A SUCCESS!! That’s right, I’m pregnant!! I wanted to make sure I told the people that I know that read this blog about it before they read it here. And I also have been super lazy and have hardly turned on my computer! So for those who have been reading this blog, and those who may have just discovered it, after 5 years of trying to have a baby, a deep seeded fear of needles and doctors, lots of blood tests, pokes, prods, and more people looking at my who-ha than I can count on both hands, my first IVF worked! I am now officially 8 weeks today and have already seen the gummy bear (that’s how big baby is this week) 2 times and heard the heartbeat last week!! 133 beats per minute and it sounded amazing!! Hubby and I are still waiting 4 more weeks to spread the happy news to everyone, but only a close few know about our gummy bear.

How am I feeling this week? Well, I have been nauseous since the IVF cycle and morning sickness really started right away. In fact, I made a special dinner to surprise hubby and couldn’t eat a bite!! It has progressively gotten worse and has turned into all day nausea but no pukey pukey so I’m happy about that at least. I’m not at all surprised I’ve been queasy because my beta numbers were pretty high, in fact we were surprised there was only one growing in there. Beta #1 was 238, 48 hours later it was 620 and 4 days after that it was 3366!! I actually went to the midwife for the first time yesterday because I have been concerned about the weight I’ve been losing and she prescribed me Zofran. Hallelujah!! I only took a half a pill yesterday and felt much better and today haven’t needed one at all!! Hopefully I’ll notice I’m feeling better more and more and one day I’ll wake up and want to eat a whole pizza!! Oh, and when I mentioned to my mom that I haven’t felt well, she promptly told me that she wasn’t sick a day during her pregnancies and it was probably because she wanted to be pregnant so badly. Sorry, mom, that doesn’t help me on frickin’ bit!

How did I tell hubby? I have been thinking of this for 5 years! For those who have been through fertility treatments, you usually don’t get any surprises. We know when we ovulate. We know how many follicles we have. With IVF we know how many embies we put back. And probably the biggest thing is we know when we have to go in for a beta to see if the cycle worked. No “Gee honey, I just peed on a stick and it’s positive!”. We have to wait for the blood test for confirmation. Well, I wanted to surprise hubby with the results. I told him that I would get the results on a Friday when I really got them on Thurs. Thursday night I made a special dinner of cornish hens (they look like baby chickens), baby carrots, baby potatoes and baby corn. When I asked him what the common theme of all the food was, of course he had no idea. OK, good thing I had a back up plan. I had purchased a book called “What to expect when she’s expanding” a few months ago (before IVF even started) and it’s a really funny book for future dads telling them what to expect for the next 9 months. I was laughing out loud in Barnes and Noble. I wrote in the front cover “Congratulations, you’re going to be a daddy!” and gave it to him. That did it. He was shocked! And I got to surprise him even in an IVF cycle!!

I go for my first official midwife visit tomorrow (yesterday’s was just a ‘holy crap’ visit) and as long as I don’t get poked to much, I’ll be happy!! I’ll keep you updated!!

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    cady said,

    omg i’m so happy for you!! i was wondering about you since you hadn’t blogged. that’s awesome that you got to surprise your hubby. i had planned to buy an “i love my daddy” onesie and leave it at my hubby’s work when i got my results, but we decided to do a hpt the night before my beta. i’m glad we did because it was so neat to see the word “pregnant” together. i’m excited to follow your pregnancy!

  2. 2

    JV said,

    Wow that is so exciting! I have literally been checking your blog every freaking day hoping for an update….you had me worried there. I start my Lupron a week from Tuesday, and I’m so happy and relieved to see your success!!! So encouraging for me to see this, but enough about me live it up girl! And how wonderful you got to surprise your husband, I was just wallowing in the lack of surprise of any of this, and you found a way to do it.

    A little off topic, but I see you’re going to a midwife practice, if you love it there please share….I’m hoping to find my way into one in several months too, nothing but optimism here (can you tell I’m new at this). I think we live in the same area…

    Yippee!

  3. 3

    Rach said,

    Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    xxxxxx

  4. 4

    Mrs. M said,

    Hi there,

    I found your blog through Stirrup’s LFCA and thought I’d pop on by to say congratulations! How exciting! I read your blog from the beginning, it’s very inspiring! Hope all continues to go well – I’ll keep checking in! 🙂

  5. 5

    Haley said,

    yay! How exciting! Wishing you nothing but the best 🙂

    LFCA

  6. 6

    babysmiling said,

    Here from LFCA…

    Congrats!!! I was 8 weeks on Tuesday, so I think my gummy bears are one day ahead of yours.

    Fun that you were still able to surprise your husband. Also, glad the Zofran is working for you.

    Take care!

  7. 7

    Magsy said,

    Wow! Congrats! Grow, gummy bear, grow!!

  8. 8

    Sarah said,

    what great news! hope it’s all smooth sailing for the next 9 months!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

